Bayelsa guber: Gov. Dickson’s loyalist, Senator Diri emerges PDP flag-bearer

By David Olalekan.

Senator Douye Diri, who represents Bayelsa Central at the Ninth Senate has emerged the flag-bearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the November 16 governorship election in the state.

Senator Diri, who’s reported to be a staunch loyalist of the state Governor, Seriake Dickson, defeated 19 aspirants to clinch the PDP guber ticket after polling a total of 561 votes.

Runner-up, Timi Alaibe, a former Presidential Adviser on Niger Delta Affairs, came second with 365 votes, while Keniebi Okoko came third with 142 votes.

According to Governor Darius Ishaku of Taraba State, who served as Chairman, PDP Bayelsa State Governorship Primary Committee, the exercise commenced at 11:30pm on Tuesday night and ended at 5:00am Wednesday morning at the Dr. Gabriel Okara Cultural Centre, Yenagoa.

Ishaku disclosed that total votes cast were 1, 253 while total valid votes were 1,237 and a total of 16 invalid votes were recorded.

He noted that Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John-Jonah (rtd) scored 62 votes while Benson Kombowei polled 24 votes. Arc Reuben Okoya got 19 votes with Kombowe Benson polling 24 votes.

He added that Ayawe Nimibofa and Joshua Maciver scored 7 votes each while Kemela Okara, Etolor Robinson, Franklin Osaisai and Bolade Igali polled 4 votes each.

Benson Agadaga, Talford Ongolo, Kiyaramo Johnson and Alagoa David all had 3 votes each, while Igiri Tobin scored 2 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *