JUST IN: INEC declares PDP winner of Zamfara State election

By Nimi Princewill.

Reacting to yesterday’s Supreme Court judgement which nullified the victory of the Zamfara State All Progressives Congress (APC) candidates in the 2019 elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has agreed to comply with the ruling of the apex court.

The Supreme Court had ruled that the APC did not conduct valid primaries in the state. Consequently, the court declared that all votes by the APC in the election were wasted votes.

The INEC chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, explained that sequel to the judgment, the commission met with its legal team to study and deliberate on the ruling of the court.

The commission, hence, reached the conclusion that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won both the Governorship and Deputy Governorship positions.

He further stated that the PDP was declared winner of the governorship poll because it satisfied the requirements provided in Section 179 and subsection 2 of the 1999 constitution.

INEC also declared that the PDP equally won Zamfara North, West and Central Senatorial districts. The PDP swept all seven slots for the House of Representatives.

INSIDER gathered the full list of the Zamfara State PDP candidates who participated in the elections:


Bello Matawalle


Mahdi Gusau


(1) Ya’u Sahabi – Zamfara North

(2) Mohammed Hassan – Zamfara Central

(3) Lawani Hassan – Zamfara West


(1) Umar Dan-Galadima
– Kaura-Namoda/Birnin Magaji Federal Constituency

(2) Bello Hassan Shinkafi – Shinkafi/Zurmi Federal Constituency

(3) Kabiru Amadu – Gusau/Tsafe Federal Constituency

(4) Shehu Ahmed – Bungudu/Maru Federal Constituency

(5) Kabiru Yahaya – Anka/Talata Mafara Federal Constituency

(6) Ahmed Bakura – Bakura/Maradun Federal Constituency

(7)Sulaiman Gum – Gummi/Bukkuyum Federal Constituency


(1) Zaharadeen M. Sada – Kaura Namoda North Constituency

(2) Kaura Namoda – South Constituency

(3) Nura Daihiru – Birnin Magaji Constituency

(4) Salihu Zurmi – Zurmi East Constituency

(5) Nasiru Muazu Zurmi West Constituency

(6) Muhammad G. Ahmad – Shinkafi Constituency

(7) Musa Bawa Musa – Tsafe East Constituency

(8) Aliyu Namaigora – Tsafe West Constituency

(9) Ibrahim Naidda – Gusau East Constituency

(10) Shafiu Dama – Gusau West Constituency

(11) Kabiru Magaji – Bungudu East Constituency

(12) Nasiru Bello Lawal – Bungudu West constituencty

(13) Yusuf Alhassan Muh – Maru North Constituency

(14) Saidu Umar – Maru South Constituency

(15) Yusuf Muhammad – Anka Constituency

(16) Shamudeen Hassan – Talata-Mafara North Constituency

(17) Aminu Yusuf Jangebe – Talata-Mafara South Constituency

(18) Tukur Jekada – Bakura Constituency

(19) Faruk Musa Dosara – Maradun I Constituency

(20) Nasiru Atiku – Maradun II Constituency

(21) Abdulnasir Ibrahim – Gummi I Constituency

(22) Mansur Mohammed – Gummi II Constituency

(23) Ibrahim Mohammed Naidda – Bukkuyum North Constituency

(24) Sani Dahiru – Bukkuyum South Constituency


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *