JUST IN: Rohr Drops Iheanacho, Ajayi from AFCON Squad

By Kennedy Pwaspo.

Super Eagles Head Coach, Gernot Rohr has dropped Leicester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham United’s defender Semi Ajayi from Nigeria’s 2019 Africa Cup Of Nations squad list.

The Super Eagles gaffer had earlier drawn a provisional list of 25 players whom he invited to camp, but had to drop two players to make way for the 23-man squad who will fly Nigeria’s flag at the 2019 AFCON after missing out on the last two editions.

Iheanacho is yet to make a bright start to his Leicester City career since joining from Manchester City, while Semi Ajayi who had a good season with Rotherham in the English Championship found stiff competition in the defensive position in the Nigerian squad.

The Super Eagles team is expected to depart Asaba today for Egypt, where they will continue their final preparations for the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations in Ismailia before heading to their tournament venue, Alexandria on 17th June.

Nigeria will face Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in the group stage of the competition scheduled for 21st June – 19th July.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *