LSHA drops 3 Sanwo-Olu’s nominees, laments influence of powerful people

By David Olalekan.

The Lagos State House of Assembly, on Monday, confirmed 35 of 38 persons nominated as commissioners and special advisers by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The three commissioner-nominees, who were not confirmed are: Prince Olanrewaju Sanusi, Mr. Obafemi George and Ms Adekemi Ajayi-Bembe.

Sources within the State Assembly who spoke to newsmen on condition of anonymity, revealed that the House was overwhelmed by the pressure to deny the rejected nominees clearance, stressing that the issue was beyond the control of the lawmakers.

“I suspected that the outcry against them arose from their people; from their constituencies where leaders and critical stakeholders, who cannot be ignored, kicked.

“I don’t think it was due to poor performance at the screening, although we heard that a particular nominee did not measure up during the exercise and the House Committee that screened them noted the non-display of competence.

“They were not confirmed because of politics of preference and rejection. The influence of powerful people, who didn’t want them, dwarfed those of their supporters in their respective constituencies. They did not play their cards well at home. It can happen because it is politics”, a source revealed.

The rejected nominees, according to the Speaker of the State Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, could be renominated by the governor.

Those cleared as commissioners and special advisers include: Mr. Oladele Ajayi, Mr. Oluwatoyin Fayinka, Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke, Mr. Kabiru Abdullahi and Mr. Joe Igbokwe.

Others are: Mr. Bonu Solomon Saanu, Mrs. Lola Akande, Prince Anofi Elegushi, Mrs. Solape Hammond, Mr. Moruf Akinderu-Fatai, Mrs Shulamite Adebolu, Mr Tokunbo Wahab., Mr. Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo, Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo, Prof. Akin Abayomi, Dr. Idris Salako, Mr. Tunji Bello, Mr. Gbenga Omotoso, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka and Mrs. Bolaji Dada

Also included are: Mr. Lere Odusote, Dr. Frederick Oladeinde, Mr. Gbolahan Lawal, Dr. Wale Ahmed, Mr. Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN), Mr. Hakeem Fahm and Mrs. Ajibola Ponle, Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Segun Dawodu, Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, Mr. Sam Egube, Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya, Princess Aderemi Adebowale, Mr. Tunbosun Alake and Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *