NASS Polls: PDP backs Ndume/Bago, APC bent on Lawan, Gbajabiamila


By Shola Abayomi.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has instructed its members-elect to vote the former Senate Leader, Ali Ndume, as Senate President and Umar Bago (both of the APC), as the Speaker, House of Representatives in today’s inauguration of the 9th National Assembly.

In the same vein, the National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday, directed all the party’s members-elect in the National Assembly to vote Senator Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives, respectively.

The directive by the NWC of the APC was issued after a meeting with the APC governors and its members-elect in the National Assembly in Abuja yesterday. Senator Ali Ndume was however, absent from the meeting.

According to reports, Senator Francis Alimikhena, Kabiru Gaya and a former Abia State governor, Orji Uzor Kalu were also absent from the APC meeting.

The APC also endorsed Senator Ovie Omo-Agege and Idris Wase as Deputy Senate President and Deputy Speaker, respectively.

Briefing newsmen at the end of the meeting, the APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, said, “We have all agreed as a caucus to endorse senator Lawan for Senate President and Senator Omo-Agege as the Deputy Senate President.

“We have also agreed to endorse Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila as the Speaker of the House of Representatives and Wase as deputy speaker. These four are the APC nominees for the respective positions. The governors and members-elect were unanimous in adopting this position.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *