UPDATED: Kogi guber: APC clears more aspirants, disqualifies 7

By Umar Salam.

The National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has reviewed the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the party’s governorship aspirants in Kogi State.

Recall that the screening committee led by Senator Hope Uzodinma noted in its report, which was made available to newsmen on Monday that only four out of 16 candidates were cleared to contest the forthcoming primary election scheduled to hold on August 29, 2019.

Among those cleared by the screening committee were: Governor Yahaya Bello; a member of the House of Representatives, Hassan Bello; Mrs Ekele Aisha Blessing and Mr Abubakar Bashir.

However, after a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, the NWC who relied on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, cleared five more aspirants to contest the August 29, Indirect Governorship primary, bringing the total number of cleared candidates to nine, with seven disqualified.

See the list of candidates:


1. Yahaya Bello
2. Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim
3. Yahaya Odidi Audu
4. Sani Lulu Abdullahi
5. Engr. Abubakar Bashir
6. Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed
7. Yakubu Mohammed
8. Hassan Abdullahi
9. Ekele Aishat Blessing


1. Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili
2. Usman Oyibe Jibrin
3. Mustapha Mona Audu
4. Rukkaya Ibrahim
5. Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa
6. Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera
7. Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *